Famous poems set to music

“The most brilliant music and poetry band in the world”

Carol Ann Duffy

“Little Machine’s sophisticated way with poetry made me fall in love with old favourites and new ones all over again. They sing, strum, beat, get you tapping your feet, make you laugh and break your heart, every word sung clear as a bell. I swear the Bard himself  has joined this band.” 

Gillian Clarke

new-writing-south

Dark Rose for Christmas – reviewed by young writer

Emily Nutbean, of New Writing South‘s Young Writers programme has written a review of our Christmas album.

Dark Rose For Christmas review

December
The poem portrays beauty; happiness at meeting someone you care about and the sad yet uplifting end of a year and LiTTLe MaCHiNe manage to depict the hopefulness and joy felt by the reader of the poem in an upbeat but not too over the top way, especially in the last stanza where Carol Ann Duffy mentions ‘the train rushes, ecstatic, to where you are, my bright star.’ Read more

LiTTLe MACHiNe live dates

2016

Thursday March 31 – West Bridgford Library, Nottingham
Friday April 29 – Stratford upon Avon Literary Festival
Saturday May 28 – Bodmin Moor Poetry Festival
Thursday June 2 & Friday June 3 – Hay Festival with Roger McGough
Tuesday June 7 – Rhyme and Reason Festival
Friday June 10 Leeds City Varieties with Roger McGough
Friday June 24 – Enfield with Roger McGough
Saturday July 2 – Ashbourne Festival with Roger McGough
Saturday July 9 – Ledbury Poetry Festival with Carol Ann Duffy
Saturday 24 Sept Norwich Playhouse with Roger McGough
Tuesday October 12 – Basingstoke with Roger McGough
Wednesday October 12 – Thame Arts & Lit Festival with Roger McGough
Saturday October 15 – Southport with Roger McGough
Sunday October 23 – Dorchester Literary Festival with Roger McGough
Wednesday October 26 Canterbury Festival with Roger McGough

Hay Festival Wales

Hay Festival – Hay-on-Wye, Wales, 2nd & 3rd June – with Roger McGough

It’s our first time at the Hay festival and we’re doing two shows with Roger. One show for adults & older children (12+) on Thursday evening (June 2) and another, ‘Poetry Pie’, for 7-12 year olds & their families on Friday morning (June 3).

Poetry Pie
For six-year-olds and their elders and betters and worsers, a morning of poems, songs, rhymes, drawings and jokes with ‘the patron saint of poetry’ and his band, the delightful masters of poetry and song LiTTLe MACHiNe. As always, Roger’s poems are full of wit and wisdom, with word play, puns and sharp observations on all aspects of life. Come and savour a slice of this brand new poetry pie.

More info to come. Check the festival website for details.